Bintan · Indonesia · Travel

De bintan villa: Day 2

Part 2 of the Bintan trilogy!

Click to view: Day 1, Day 3

………………………....……………………………………..…………...……….…………

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Woke up real early (supposed to wake up at 6am but we accidentally woke up at 5am because bintan time is an hour earlier and our phone was still at sg time lolol) today.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Had buffet breakfast at the gazebo and the spread was quite small but locally tasty, consisting of nasi goreng, mee goreng, some fried glass noodles, toast with indo kaya (it’s yellow!) and blue brand butter (rly salty but nice). They can also cook onion omelette on the spot for you ๐Ÿ˜€

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
After that we went to bintan mountain to hikeeeeee! It’s so funny cause we thought the two villa staff fetching us to the mountain were gonna be our guides cus they look so macho but our guide was this lean looking old guy sitting near the mountain hahaha. He was really fit though and climbed through everything sooo easily.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
And even though the mountain wasn’t really very tall (just like 160+metres I think?), it was me and Mitch’s most dangerous hike we’ve everrrrrr done. Every step was a potential slip down the steep mountain lol and it was raining just a few mins before so the path was super slippery. We had to climb up muddy slopes and steps and tree branches and also pull ourselves up almost vertical slopes using ropes lol. And also cross through waterfalls and risk getting washed and pushed down by the water +.+ my hands were holding onto rocks and trees and ground so I wouldn’t fall hahaha. My mind and body were totally in focus so I wouldn’t fall to my death!! And our guide pretty much let us independently go through everything instead of holding our hands through it all lol.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
We thought of giving up and going back down so many times (cus we actually only planned to hike until the waterfall lol) but I’m glad we persisted on cause the feeling of conquering such a tough mountain is so awesomeeeee! There was also this high tower at the top of the mountain and the view was so beautiful!
Climbing back down was the scariest thing ever because there was nothing much to hold onto and I had so many brushes with death lol and my knees were gonna give way soon because the entire climb wore me out +.+
The guide told us it normally takes 3 hours to climb up and down the mountain without resting, but we only took 2 hours and took about 3 breaks lasting 1-2mins each. Maybe he was rushing cus it looked like it was gonna rain again lol.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Also thankful to myself for working out the past few months, after this trip, when I did the exercises I’ve been doing again, I was reminded of how some actions/muscles used were similar to those I had to do when hiking (like pulling myself up ropes, climbing up high rocks)… If I haven’t been doing all that prior to this hike, i could’ve seriously injured myself +_ + interesting how everything you do could eventually benefit you in the future!
Oh btw, the weather these two days was realllllly nice and cloudy! ~v ~ I was afraid it’ll either rain everyday so we’ll be stuck indoors and have to cancel all our activities or it’ll be too hot and sunny to enjoy the outdoor activities..but it was such a perfect balance that it’s as if God was shipping us and this holiday trip *-* (that’s what Mitch and I were saying lol hahaha)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
After hiking, the villa staff fetched us back to the villa for us to wash up and have lunch. It feels so good to eat and drink after a good morning workout! Was feeling so proud of myself for conquering such a risky mountain and not injuring myself +_+
Mitch discovered we had wifi at the gazebo towards the end of lunch lol and we were finally connected to the world again! And then we were off to snorkeling!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
I was so afraid of snorkeling and wanted to cancel it too lol cause I’m scared of sea creatures (I swear some of them are aliens that learnt to live on earth) but in the end I found it super fun. We saw sea urchins, giant clams, sea anemone and nemos, and the instructor encouraged us to touch the corals and sea anemone. Initially was scared to touch the sea anemone cus I rmb learning that they sting, but it was barely noticeable. And the nemo looked so scared when I was touching the sea anemone!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
The instructor taught us how to snorkel separately, and towards the end he got Mitch and I to go together and he took lots of photos for us which was so nice! I’m sad that Mitch couldn’t enjoy it as much though because his snorkeling mask was kinda loose so water kept going in lol. D: after this snorkeling experience I recently dreamt that I went to snorkel in a place with very clear waters and it felt amazing…*- * hope to actually experience that irl someday!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
We went for a traditional balinese massage after that…it was our first time going for a Balinese massage (and my second time trying a massage…the first time was in Japan and I really like the Balinese one more! Probably because they make use of oil and skin to skin massage instead of having a layer of cloth between).

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Going for a massage after hiking and snorkeling felt sooooo good!! And the ginger tea they served was pretty delish. I felt bad throughout the massage tho cause I was naked and feeling cold (the air con was on) so I kept having goosebumps which probably wasn’t nice for the masseur to rub her hands against hahahaha :X she was so nice though and asked me if I was cold and even turned up the temperature of the air con for me. Mitch fell asleep in the middle of the massage hahaha…thought he’d find it ticklish cus he always does whenever I try to massage him. Guess I’m not doing it right!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Bought an extra fish for dinner (along with free extra bugs and mozzies that suicided into our dishes) since it was our last night here. Then we walked back to our villa, bathed, stretched, drank lots of water cause we were both having headaches probably from dehydration (drinking sea water and all the exercise) and went to sleep feeling super super exhausted (i mean, hiking up a scary mountain and snorkeling for the first time in one day would tire out anyone right)!

Click for Day 3!

2 thoughts on “De bintan villa: Day 2

Leave a Reply

