Thoughts

Cold feet

I can’t believe I’ll be graduating in about 5 months’ time… I’m pretty sure the next 5 months won’t be easy because of how behind in time I am regarding my thesis (due to the reallyyyy tediously arduously long ethics approval process)…but I’m determined to make the most out of it and have as much fun as I can!

Also, I’m thinking of where to go on graduation trip/meaningful stuff I can do in the short period I have after graduation and before stamping myself out into the working world. I thought of volunteering overseas, teaching english somewhere in southeast asia, or volunteering at farms (aka the WWOOF program) and exploring countries like Europe/Canada/SEA…I’d wish to do them all but with limited money and time, I probably can only commit to one or two. 😥

More importantly, I’ll need to start job hunting in these 5 months. I really really treasure a good working environment with thoughtful colleagues above all else. It’s something I never got to experience in the internship/part-time stints I’ve gone through. I’m always jealous when I hear my friends talking about how they had a good time during their internship/jobs and couldn’t bear to leave the company at the end of their terms.

I also would love to have a meaningful and fulfilling job, although I believe that any job can be thought of as meaningful, depending on how you yourself make of it. But I’d really appreciate having a job as related to counselling/psychology as possible, although I lack the experience as an undergrad to be considered for such positions. 😥 I’d like to think that I’m an open-minded person, and am willing to try out different fields such as research (although I aim to be a clinical psychologist in the end) or correctional…and I believe that any random experience I’ve gained would eventually contribute somehow, in whatever small/big way, to me and my future.

Not sure where this is goingggg, but just a rant as I try to forget that my academic results will be released tomorrow morning. ;_ ; I worked really hard for it, and this is about the final/second final chance for me to pull my grades up, so getting my results this semester have never meant this much to me. However, at the same time, I strangely feel kind of calm…maybe it’s because I know I tried my best and well, it’s not the end of the world either way. Sometimes we gotta look at things from a bigger perspective (like watching the live stream of Earth from space via NASA cam)…suddenly they may not be as big of a deal as they seemed.

Leave a Reply

